---
title: Enable/disable Clear Carts functionality
slug: enabledisable-clear-carts-functionality
description: Learn how to prevent double-selling of tickets on the Ludus platform with real-time updates. Admins can clear tickets from a patron's cart to make them available for others. Find out how to enable this feature and clear a cart permanently, but be aware th
docTags: 
createdAt: 2023-09-04T16:47:52.324Z
---

Everything in Ludus updates in real-time. This ensures that two people can not add the same tickets to their cart and have double-sold seats. Once a patron has added tickets to their cart, they will be held to give them adequate time to complete checkout. After a bit of time, if they do not complete their purchase, they will get an abandoned cart email, and their tickets will be released back into the available pool for other patrons.

As an admin, you can clear tickets from a patron's cart. Let's say it is minutes before a show, and a patron has tickets sitting idly in their cart. You can clear that cart to ensure those tickets are available for another patron to purchase.

### Enable Patron Cart Clearing

To enable the ability to clear a patron's cart:

::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click the **Settings wheel icon** (⚙️) in the upper right-hand corner of your admin panel.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click the tab titled **Labs**.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
For the section titled **Clear Carts**, click **On**.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click **Save** at the bottom of the page.
:::
::::

### Clearing a Cart

Once the ability to clear carts has been enabled in your settings, you can easily do so from your admin panel.

:::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
On the main **Events** tab, navigate to the event time for which you'd like to clear the cart. (i.e., If you are trying to clear the cart of a patron buying tickets to the September 22nd show, go to that event time)
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Click **New Order** next to that event time.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
At the top of the ticket selection page, there will be a blue box that shows the number of active carts for that event time. To view, click the **blue box**.

![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/hZcZIA5As4EsukOh0OMVE/9vfjjSO5-qMu-J_DpoBeH_screen-shot-2023-09-04-at-124107-pm.png)
:::

::::WorkflowBlockItem
To clear the cart, click&#x20;**&#x20;Clear** next to the desired cart.

![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/hZcZIA5As4EsukOh0OMVE/4o5lD7Ov3U8-tFE44appk_screen-shot-2023-09-04-at-124348-pm.png)

:::hint{type="danger"}
Clearing a patron's cart is a permanent action. If you do so, they will have to start over to complete their purchase. The tickets they originally selected might not be available by the time they go back to purchase, as they will become available to the public as soon as the cart is cleared.
:::
::::
:::::

